Any Professors?

I am currently an office manager/HR (its a small company, so I guess a little of everything?) and am finishing my degree. In efforts to focus on something other than my breakup, I'm trying to set new goals for myself. I have toyed with the idea of going on past a bachelor's, but I haven't really decided if it would be what I really want. Anyway, I wouldn't want to be a full time professor, but maybe teach a couple of courses a year either at a university or a community college for supplemental income. Does anyone do this and or have insight into it?

To be an adjunct teacher you really only need a Master's Degree I think, depending on how saturated that field is with people who have Ph.D.'s.

If you're thinking Ph.D. I'd talk to some people in the field and consider if you are really passionate about doing research. If not, I don't think there's much value in going beyond Masters.

I'd suggest thinking in more precise terms what you'd like to with the degree and your career.

Doctorals are great in some fields, especially if you plan to do lots of research. In other fields your career options could be just fine without investing so much time and effort.

Maybe it varies...people are saying Masters but I wasn't a candidate for the prof.positions with a Masters- am an assistant at Uni. Is that something you'd like? It does leave more time for research if you still want to work on a Doctoral.