Advice from you LDR veterans?

Nomad

Hi guys - first time posting on this forum/website. Seems to be a pretty helpful community however, after briefly perusing through a few posts!

Hoping for a bit of advice from you LDR folks. I'm in the gray-ish area early stages of what appears to be a budding LDR, and wondering if it is something that I should invest some time/effort in to pursue, before things get more complicated. I've never done the LDR thing. Honestly it has never struck me as "a good idea", but then again I suppose nobody actively searches for a LDR relationship - life just happens.

Anyways, here is the rundown/context. Sorry if it gets a bit lengthy!

I'm a 28 y/o man. Last May, I quit my job and pursued a fellowship (read: unpaid volunteer position) with a really interesting international NGO. Basically, a great way to travel to some interesting places while doing meaningful work, and build up the resume at the same time (I work in the social sector). During the 'training week' in the US, I met a great intern at this particular organization. We chatted intermittently throughout the week, but we were both quite distracted with our own tasks. Me with training, her with helping to run the logistics for the week, etc.

The last night of the training week included a night of karaoke at a local bar. Needless to say, everybody got quite drunk She was flirting with me quite heavily, getting a bit touchy/making a good amount of physical contact. Because we were both obviously a bit sauced, I didn't want to create a regrettable/embarrassing scene, as we were with staff/other 'fellows' from the NGO - and they would essentially be co-workers in one way or the other for both of us. Anyways, we had a good time but I didn't pursue it.