She rejected me, I don't get it?!?!

piratehound

There's this girl I've been talking to for a couple of months. Over the part couple months, we've been flirting hard, but she always had a boyfriend. Last week I said that we would make great friends - she got upset and stormed off.

Well unbeknowest to me she broke up with her boyfriend.

So the other night when I saw her, we were flirting hard again, and she brought up that she and her boyfriend broke up. I gave her a hard time - saying I didn't believe her etc - all in good fun - and she "argued" with me until I was convinced she was single.

Open door right?

So I pull out my phone and say: "Put your number in there" She just looks at the phone and doesn't take it. My heart sinks. Then she starts saying things like; "just put my number in your phone huh?" and then turns to our group at the bar and said: "piratehound just told me to put my number in his phone" i guess she didn't like how assertive it was.

After that, we just sat there in silence.

WHAT THE HELL?!?!?!!?!!

I think I probably would've made a scene back and said her being like that must have been the reason her BF couldn't stand her. I would say things like "Ohh gonna flirt with me to boost your ego or whatever so you can shoot me down." then quote some of the things she said when she was being flirty in a mocking voice. I just don't like being disrespected like that, so I become confrontational back, I mean like no holding back, like I don't care if I ruin my chances with her or not, or our friendship. That's probably what I would do in the heat of the moment. No, you obviously don't have a chance with her, but I'd at least wanna get even, because she made you look really bad.