Adult ADD and the Work Place

Shnoodle

Lately I have been having a struggle with my recent job and I'm unsure what to do with the situation. I have been working a customer service job recently which I enjoy in most ways, but the work environment has been making me uncomfortable. I wish I could do something about it because I job-hunted for months before finally finding this one.

I was diagnosed with severe ADD as a kid (before it was super-common), but also.. this may sound cheesy AND self-absorbed, the same psychiatrist also said I'm qualified as some kind of genius.

I told you it sounded cheesy.

I'm not super smart mind you, I just am extremely creative and I've always had a knack for solving puzzles. As an adult that just translates in to that I'm an eccentric artist who excels at video games and several crafting hobbies, not all that special.

The ADD part though is taking a toll at my new job, as I am extremely forgetful and often absent minded. I don't think it has hurt my work-performance, but the other coworkers have taken notice and they treat me like a giant moron because of it. It's insulting AND unavoidable, as I have to interact with them almost as much as the customers to make sure that the customers' needs are met. None of my coworkers say anything directly, but it's loosely implied often. I also hear how they gossip about other coworkers when they aren't around. "Idiot" is a word they like to throw around quite often. They are a clique pretty much made up of 60% the staff, all male, 3 of which are my superiors. I can guarantee you they say the same about me and that I'm not just being paranoid.