I don't want to drink. How hard is that to understand?

Fudgie

Sorry this is a sort of rant here but I'm kind of miffed.

This weekend, my school is holding a special Spring event. Now, I'm a sophomore at college, and I know what this event holds. Usually it's some activities, free ice cream, t-shirts, music, etc. Sounds great right? I thought it was when I was a freshmen, and then I actually showed up.

It's basically a remake of animal house. It's the one weekend a year that you can bring all this alcohol on campus and get drunk off your ass without getting in trouble (yes, even if you're underage).

Last year, I saw a lot of bad * * * * happen - and I wasn't even going out!

-people fighting/screaming at each other in drunken rage.

-people running into the street in front of cars

-vomit all over the bushes

-when I went to take a shower, there were 3 drunk guys in the GIRL'S BATHROOM

-drugs galore

-chugging

I can't stand it. Even at the "non-alcohol" activities, everyone is still drinking and being really annoying and loud.

I don't drink. I can't drink because of my medication. I don't like being around drunk people, I have no tolerance for that kind of thing. I don't like being out of control and I don't like to put myself into those sorts of situations. I don't party either. I don't remember the last time I went to a party. I'm just not into it.

Now here's my beef: I'm driving home for the weekend. Everyone is staying here to attend the event. I'm getting a LOT of crap because I'm not going, even from people who don't really know me. I'm called a "goody-two-shoes" and a "loser"...all because I don't want to drink and I'm going home to avoid all the out-of-control behaviour. Why can't they just accept it? I don't get it.