Thinking about getting a dog, need advice.

blindreepr

So I'm thinking about getting a dog. I'm living completely alone for the first time in my life and I'm finding it rather.....lonely.

A little bit about me:

I'm living in a studio in an apartment complex in downtown SF. So I don't have much room, so a small dog is probably the route I'll have to go.

I work 32 hours a week in the evenings, from 3:00-11:30. Starting at the end of the month, I'll have school from 8-12 in the morning on tuesday's and thursday's. Other than that my free time usually spent at home as I'm new to the city and haven't made any new friends in the 5 months I've been here. I'm not an extroverted guy so I don't plan on being out all the time and leaving the dog alone.

I may visit my friends who live an hour south of me by taking the train, so again, small enough to fit in a kennel that I can carry with me on the train is what I need.

I was thinking of getting an young adult-senior dog from the shelter. I'm fairly certain that I don't have the time for a puppy right now and wouldn't want to do that to a dog.

I realize I'd need to make time to take the dog on walks, which isn't a problem because I walk everywhere.

Any advice or breeds that might suit my lifestyle?

Was going to say to make sure you rescue! Seems to fit your lifestyle anyway. Thank you for that!

Do you have any specific allergies? Does your apartment complex/landlord have any breed restrictions?

No animal allergies.

I don't think there is any breed restrictions. I'm sure they wouldn't allow me to get a pit bull, but those dogs are too big for my place anyways. It's too bad though because those dogs can be huge cuddle bugs.

Surprisingly larger breeds are better for smaller spaces. For example in my city many people with studio's or 1 bedrooms will have a great dane. They are very relaxed and don't need a lot of exercise. Smaller dogs are generally always running around and yappy.