Fallen for a friend who is religious

saren

I have a friend who I've been harbouring feelings for for a couple years now. We see each other weekly at a social event, from which I usually drive him home. We will often sit in my parked car and talk for hours after arrival. He doesn't really ask to invite me in, unless I ask to use the bathroom or something. But he is never in a rush to hurry off out of my car. He is religious and I am not. I know that Christian guys are strongly advised to only date other believers, and they believe that it is better for the man to make the first move. Apparently they don't like it when women are too forward.

About a year ago, he told me he is "almost ready for a relationship again", but has never asked me out. He's disclosed a lot of private things to me about himself and quietly stammered about how much he trusts me once, back turned to me while saying it. Lately, I've made some invitations, going to a movie, me making him dinner, but he rejected both. Then the next weekend, he's back in my car, not going inside, and talking up a storm. Now it's wintertime and I am growing impatient in the cold.

Interestingly, he doesn't shy away if I touch him (his hands or his face), even of other people are around, but he doesn't initiate touching me, and doesn't maintain solid eye contact when we talk up a storm (both of us, I promise, not just me!). I don't know how well he would respond if I tried to hurry things along and confessed my feelings to him, because the clues are ambiguous. I am 33 years old and I thought I was done with this juvenile nonsense!

Should I ride it out a little longer, point blank him, or what? As a humourous aside, his best friend asked me last week if we were an item (because we both showed up in same coloured sweaters for the second week in a row, and it was a good opportunity to tease I guess) and I said 'no', and he said nothing. Sigh.... I guess other people see something there.