Back in the saddle... but I ain't the same cowboy anymore

jimmyh

To make the long story short I'm in my late thirties. I do research for a living and that's what my life has been until three years ago. I don't mind this life. It's true, I do work a lot and most of the time the results seem to elude me, but every now and then I find out something interesting that keeps me going. As a bonus, I can also travel to new places and see things I'd never see had my life worked out the way it was supposed to.

My life changed a few times quite abruptly. First, I went to the undergraduate school, then I crossed the ocean to get a PhD, then back to Europe, and then I almost died, or so I thought. All these changes had a strong impact on me, but I think my undergraduate school was the worse. As long as I was a student there, I was constantly called idiot by the very people I was supposed to work with, and guess what I did? Like in the typical abusive relationships, I started believing they were right and it was my fault and I didn't listen to anyone who told me otherwise. Anyway, my boss at the time did do me the biggest favor by not hiring me as a PhD student. So, off I went and it was the greatest move I had ever made.

As I started the PhD in US, I felt I was living the dream. I was actually doing real research, I made many friends, and my student stipend seemed like a small fortune. I even sent some money home and it was a good idea, because my folks were always in need as my siblings were also students. When things started to look up, just like in that famous Jane Austen novel, I felt I should have a woman by my side. It was like this: I'd be fine for one or two months, and than get this longing feeling and sometimes wish some random woman driving a yellow car was my wife. But here is the thing. I was 25 and had no relationship experience. That's what being a geek gets you.