A really bad situation...need advice !

I've been a manager with the same company for 4 years now, and been working there for a total of 9 years. In the past year I have not been giving my full effort and I've been really unhappy working there. I had one review a year ago which was really bad, and then another one a few months later that was a lot better. At that time I was scared of losing my job so I did everything I could to improve my performance.

So now here I am a year later, and I've been so unmotivated by the job that I've been doing really badly. My review is coming up again any day now, and I've heard from a couple of people in the office that there's been some really negative feedback about my performance ! I've been so scared and stressed out about this for the past week, I don't know what to do. I thought about handing in my resignation, although I think that would be pretty obvious to people why I am quitting ! especially if I don't even have another job lined up yet.

I've been a nervous wreck for days now, and feel completely paranoid that any day now I'm going to get fired or demoted ! I'm so confused, I don't know what to do ! Getting fired would be completely humiliating, how the hell do I get out of this ?? Has anyone out there been in this situation before ?

Any advice out there would be appreciated !

A couple of months ago I could seriously have written a lot of what you said in your post.

I felt it was not worth all the stress and anxiety over a job I had lost interest in so I quit without having another one lined up - after a hell of a lot of worrying about it. I too thought it would be embarrassing that everyone would know the reason as I too had been taked about, I also had a decent salary and a permanent contract. I figured I could probably get by for 3-4 months if need be. The minute I handed my resignation in (actually, from when I decided in my heart) I felt so much better and I truly haven't regretted it once.