Communicating w/Your Ex

I have a question concerning NC, and being friends w/your ex.

My ex broke up w/me bec she said she was vulnerable when we were together, she had just gotten out of an LTR, still wanted to be friends of course, & we've had two periods of NC within the past 2yrs. I feel like she basically uses me to hang out with alot of the time but I am probably the only true friend she has. And yes, I still have feelings for her--why I don't know, but they're there....I have never told her nor acted on them.

She has other ppl she hangs out with, but mostly to drink/party. She is in her 40s but acts like she's in her 20s. She has not dated anyone in the past 2yrs since we've been together but I know she looks. Not sure why she hasn't dated yet, w/all the partying she does. And yes, she does work fulltime. I have other friends, good ppl I spend time with, and i do go out and do my own thing. I'm a professional woman and my friends tell me I can do much better, but I always tell ppl we are just friends.

I usually let her initiate contact between us bec she has a history of freaking out if/when ppl ask if we're together, and always telling me not to read into anything, we'll never be together, she regrets ever getting involved w/me, etc etc. One can only bear to hear this so many times, so that is why I let her do the calling. Sometimes I'll pick up the phone but I'm careful.