Hi, I'm a newbie here. I fell in love with this girl 8 months ago. I am a musician and I like to smoke pot once in a while. I smoke about 1 gram a week. I have a good job, own my house, pay my bills, never do anything stupid whn I smoke. I told her all of this from the beginning. Now she told me that she thought she was falling in love even more with me, but that she could not see herself with a man that smokes pot. I told her that I was willing to try and quit but that I could not make promises and that I did not think it was a big deal. She would not budge, at all. She told me to leave and only call her once I have quit. I think I would be able to quit, but I think that it's not right to impose your will on somebdy like that, to give ultimatums in a relationship. There has to be room for compromise. So I'm really sad. I hope she will miss me enough to reconsider. Just ranting but any advice or support would certainly be appreciated. Composer:sad:

As harsh as it sounds, I understand your girlfriend and I totally agree. I would leave as well. She may come from a traditional family or she may be brought up to believe that smoking pot is irresponsible. Have you ever thought about having children with her? Us women, we think of ourselves: I love him, can he be my husband, dad to my children? Well, I am sorry but she may want to have a different example to her kids.

So if you love her and want to save something here, quit it! Be strong and quit it. If you don't want to quit it or you think you are not strong enough or you might event think that it's not a bad habit, then respect her decision and let her go. Maybe you will meet someone, who will share this habbit with you and won't have a problem with it.

However, I think for most women smoking pot is a big turn off and a sign of somehow irresponsibility to life.