Fear, anger, and regret: My horrible legacy

I think this is a vent thread, I'm not quite sure. There is just so much that I need to express.

Well, to make a long story short, it turns out that I am more dysfunctional than I thought I was. I don't just have issues I have a subscription to a major publication.

I've been seeing a therapist for the last month; moreover, I've been diagnosed as a Hypochondriac, with generalized anxiety disorder and low self esteem. I knew that I was a hypochondriac, but I didn't realize that I had low self esteem. At first I thought I had gotten over my low self esteem. But I realize I've always had it and I've just been coexisting with it.

To see me in person you probably wouldn't think I had really low self esteem. I am meticulous about my appearance; I am a perfect student; and I always present a really happy face to the general public. And even though I'm quite an introvert I get on well with other people.

But lately I am discovering, much to my own chagrin, that I am such a false person. All of my life I have put on a big front to appease others, much to the detriment of myself. Infact, I am realizing that I've never known myself to begin with. At 25-years-old I am just now beginning to figure out who I really am. I have lost so much time due to fear and low self esteem. I have always pretended to be something that I'm not just so people would believe that I was okay.

Growing up I remember people telling my mother how cute, well dressed, and good I was. And I remember always thinking that it meant something very profound. In fact, I often thought that I was better than other children because their parents had such a hard time with them...So I always wanted to be "perfect" for my mother. I lived for that approval so much that I didn't even go through my teenaged rebellion stage.