clean, clean, clean-- but should i get tested? what about him?

hey-

i'm new to the dating scene again. for the past 3 years i've been in a serious relationship. since then, tv has aired a million scary "get tested!" STD ads.

i do not have an std, but as they say-- it can happen to anyone.

so, here i am about to get serious with someone 5 years older than me (i'm 25). should i suggest we get tested?

i wouldn't even know where to go! the commercials just say "get tested!"-- i don't suppose this is something my dentist can take care of, is it?

seriously, do people really have these conversations? i just don't know quite how to bring it up -or- aare those commercials directed towards the more sexually active crowd?

Yes get tested. You can't look at someone and tell if they are clean. Always go with the first instinct...get tested.

ANother thing is..once you get tested and everything comes back clean...if years later you come up with something and you've been faithful....someone else hasnt. Think about it. Its a CYA method.

but how do i ask someone to do this? do i go too? where do i go?

It's an uncomfortable but very necessary talk to have. Maybe bring it up just by mentioning the stuff you've seen on TV. And, yes, you get tested, too. It seems.....improper (?) to me to ask someone to do something you yourself are not willing to do. Kinda like you expect them to do all the work.

Really, with things as they are these days, it's highly likely he's trying to figure out how to have "the talk" as well. Frankly, I think if you can't talk about doing it (and the possible ramifications of doing it)...you probably shouldn't be doing it.