Need feedback -- what do you think I should do???

Mjane

I need some advice on my silly situation. My background is I'm a bit skittish and hesitant to put myself out there because I've experienced quite a bit of rejection in the past year and I'm not sure if I'm ready to get more.

But I was at a party last night. There is a guy that came that I've been interested in, but I haven't gotten any obvious encouraging feelings from him.

Anyway, so I just hung out with others. During the eve, a woman came up to me and told me I should make a play for this guy because he's interested in me. I ask her why she thinks that and she says she just knows he is.

Anyway she and I have exchanged some emails today and she's emphasized he's a great guy, but kind of clueless and shy. This woman is adamant that I would have to ask him out.

She said he wouldn't know if a woman was coming on to him unless he was hit over the head.

I did see the guy today and in a conversation with a bunch of people I said that I liked a certain colour and would date any guy if he had a bike in that colour. Then he piped up that part of his bike was that colour.

Other than that comment, I haven't felt a lot of encouragement from him. But he is always friendly to me.

So... I'm scared to death because of my past experiences to do anything, but what do you guys think? is there enough there to ask him out? and how should I do it so that it appears like his idea? I believe that if a woman makes the first move then a guy automatically isn't going to be as interested in her... a little old fashioned maybe... but it's been my experience...

I also told her that she should let him know that if he were to ask me out, he would get a guaranteed yes... I kind of figured that was the best route to go... but who knows if she's ever going to have that conversation with him.

Any feedback is appreciated. I'm 36 and he's 35.