Broke up after 3.5 years - UPDATE

Thanks you for all of the replies. I'm grateful that you all decided to read such a long post. Thanks. AND, I'm new to this sight, so I wasn't sure if I should've posted a reply to the original string of messages, or simply start a new thread. So, if I'm flooding the system, I apologize.

I sent her a very short email today telling her that I will always be there to support her if she needs it. I got no response, but then again, I didn't expect to get one. And, by the way, I'm not one of those people that floods the other with phone calls, emails, and such; if for any other reason than I simply don't have the time ). She has mentioned that every time she talks to me she feels guilty – "I feel guilty for being me," as she puts it – which concerns me. She says that's why she takes 3-4 days to return calls. Perhaps this is because I've sounded really bummed lately.

Since that day we talked on the phone (those of you who read my post know what I'm talking about) to totally end things, I haven't tried to contact her – except for the email I sent her today.

I don't think she's a coward by any means. But, I do think that she/we is/are going through many difficult things right now, and she/we might not be handling the situation as we otherwise might in a less stressful time. I just hope that she doesn't end up smoking pot like ALAN. Don't get me wrong…I've met him before and he seems to be nice guy. He's just reckless. And, it seems like his drug use is bound to get in the way of any sort of relationship they might have together. He's not just an occasional user (I know plenty of fine people that light up on occasion)…he smokes several times per week, every week. The question then becomes "pot?" or "you?" Anyway, I digress.