I Can’t Get Over my Crush on my Co-worker

Diamonddoll91

I probably could have posted this in multiple categories, so I’m sorry if maybe it’s not the right one. This has been something that’s been weighing on me for a long time, and I’m going to be honest and give as much detail as I can. So bear with me if this gets kind of long (it does) but I want to get some good insight on this, and there’s lots of detail involved. I’m actually omitting a lot, but I think I got the main points in. I’ve also been drinking wine, so... we’ll see how my story-telling goes.

A bit of background: I am a middle school teacher in my mid-20s. I’ve never had a serious boyfriend and, although I’ve kissed guys and have had a little sexual experience, I haven’t actually had sex yet. I get told regularly that I am attractive and people always ask me why I’m still single. But I was a late bloomer and I have always been shy/introverted and a bit on the insecure side. Main takeaways: I’m still not really used to being the “pretty girl,” and I don’t have a lot of experience with guys beyond making out.

So a guy teacher around my age started working at my school last year. He’s good looking, athletic, smart, confident... basically a lot of things I’m attracted to in a guy. We flirted a little bit last year when we would hang out outside of school with a group of younger teachers. At the beginning of this school year (August) I got to know him a little better because we work in the same grade level. He would come off as a bit shy (I know I said he’s confident earlier, but one-on-one I can sense the shyness) and hard to read, but I was attracted to him... I didn’t necessarily have a crush, but there was a little something there. I didn’t necessarily think anything would happen between us, but I was kind of thinking if he did ask me out, I wouldn’t say no.