Need Help - Want to move past making an error of judgement and get my ex talking to me again

Hello,

This is my first time posting on here, I stumbled upon your forum whilst trying to find some self help. I would appreciate any advice, I really feel like I have reached a dead end with this situation but I want to ensure that I try everything possible to try and make it better. I'll firstly give some context to my predicament...

I dated my boyfriend for six months before he ended the relationship 6 weeks ago. In the beginning, he kept asking to date me and I agreed after a month as I wanted to get to know him properly (we met off Tinder). He was very intense with sharing his feelings and told me he loved me and even suggested marriage quite early on, he said he was sure about me. A week before he broke up with me, he mentioned about moving in with me as I had a problem with the rates of my rent being increased. It transpired that he ended up getting cold feet with this and distanced himself a bit, I think he frightened himself thinking about the reality and had just wanted to help me out. If he had moved in, he would have been commuting to work 2 hours each way every day! (We live an hour away from one another). Anyway, after the breakup we remained friends and continued hanging out. He carried on telling me he loves me and we continued sleeping together. The reasons for the break were he felt he had regressed as a person and didn't like who he was becoming. He said he had become complacent and lazy in the relationship and wanted time to himself to work on projects and sort himself out. He told me that he wasn't ruling out a reconciliation in the future and said that he was not looking to date anybody else, which I believed.