Online dating.. yes or no?

bem72

So, I've never tried online dating before and I am quite skeptical about it. I have Bumble, but I literally never reach out to anyone. I am starting to realize this might have to be the road I take if I ever want to meet someone.

So, how is online dating for those of you whom have tried it, successfully or not? I am so worried about meeting someone in person and they arent who they say they are. Or they are a ty person. I mean I guess thats the point of dating, but I am someone who gets hopeful/attached/hurt easily.

I also am not necessarily looking for anything right now, but someone to talk to would be nice. If the person comes around and changes the game thats all good with me though. However, I dont want to get anyone hopes up or hurt them, but I dont want to be a booty call either.

Anyways, I'm probably reading way too far into this, so personal experience, sites and other suggestions are welcome!

The thing with online dating is, you have to have very thick skin and not believe everyone you talk to. What I mean is, there are many on those sites that are not genuine or are married and looking to have fun or are single and not willing to commit. It takes a lot sometimes to find a decent person and many just give in because it did not go well.

Yes, there are some that get lucky and find someone decent and end up being with them but more and more these days there are game players than decent ones.

I know that sounds negative, but it's the unfortunate reality.

You need to be smart about it, not jump in head first and don't take everyone's word for things. Really get to know someone and meet and then further get to know them well before you decide if they are genuine and worthwhile for a long term relationship.

Yeah, it takes work, but it's better to be sure than to have more disappointments and crap experiences.