Hi.

I've never done this sort of thing before, but I have such a huge problem at the heart of my otherwise fantastic life that I feel the need to start asking for help.

And I feel the need to tell the story of my marriage, which I have never fully told to anyone before. I hope this is a good place to do it. It's a long and complex story, to be sure, but I'm told I'm good at writing those. It's also not a typical relationship tale, so my hope is that you'll find it diverting enough that its length will not offend.

J and I have been together for over 15 years — five as friends, then five dating, and now over five married. We're both solvent professionals, have a beautiful home and a wonderful daughter. We have always held practically identical worldviews on the vast majority of topics, and share many common interests that we enjoy spending our time together on. Our sex life is somewhat intermittent, but not terrible by any means. There's never been any physical abuse or infidelity between us.

I grew up in a highly dysfunctional household, no alcohol or drugs but with constant bickering and screaming anyway, along with a handful of police interventions and emergency room visits. Still have the scars, as does my father. I never really got the chance to become a good person when I was a kid, but once I was an adult I made it my life's goal. I embarked on half a decade of weekly therapy with a good psychologist a few years after growing up, and slowly learned how to be something akin to a normal, stable human being. Along the way I learned to swallow my pride, among many other things, and now have a very amicable (if a little distant) relationship with my parents. I'm on excellent terms with both of my siblings.