Really struggling, did he use a cop out?

These last 2 weeks have been a struggle for me, this came at a bad time since im travelling. I had felt something off w my long distance partnet and i found out that he has had emotional connection issues w people in his life. We met online and met in person 3 times, he wanted the relationship and said I love you 1st.

We are at diff stages, im a college grad w a professional job, he is younger and still figuring things out. Idk if he is just looking out for me or using excuses. He has told me:

-you are perfect, im broken (its me not you)

-i live you, but want to be single

-you deserve much better

-you should date other guys

-its not fair to me to drag it on

He went on a trip as well. He told me he confided in a good friend. He loves me, but isnt happy and his friend said well you just arent happy. Apparently he confided in several of his friends and they did not understand.

It was hard for him to let go and i am devastated. I kept messaging him and he would respond. I told him nc for a week to see what happens and he agreed and dint want me berating him. I plan on starting to date again, but im struggling to let go. I asked abt boudaries and he said he would prefer me not to kiss, hug flirt w other men, but he cant stop me. He said we could try again, he just wants to be alone. He is not sexually driven nor is he a party type person (he is an introvert). Was this a total cop out? I had a guy do it to me before and he was a lot more blunt. I vid chatted w him just before i cut contact and he was struggling not to cry. In our convi he used pet names and hoped i would find peace. Thoughts? Btw he hasnt deleted our pics off social media.

Sorry to hear this. What made him think "you were berating him"? He doesn't get to dictate what you do now, after he dumps you.