feeling at a crossroad with my life

Hey Ena,

I'm at a crossroad with my career and life at the moment.

I graduated about 2 years ago from university with a psychology degree. At the time, I applied to a few masters but didn't get in. So I continued working at this job I had during school throughout the year. Throughout that year, I thought of all the careers and graduate studies I wanted to pursue. I stumbled upon social work since I really enjoy working with the elderly. But I would of had to do either a master's or a bachelor's. I got accepted for the bachelor's at two universities but as I got accepted I got promoted at work to a 55k a year job.

So I thought about continuing my studies but I didn't want to go another 3 years at school to make less money than I'm making now. And I sort of enjoyed the job I have now. And I was ready to move out and be on my own and the job I have now allows me to do that.

So I decided to stick with the 55k job. At the time I enjoyed it and after I got it permanently I decided to take a big step and buy my own home.

I was really happy and I have enough money to support myself and I will be moving soon. However, I've recently ever since the xmas holidays, have started to become bored and feel dead at work. I can't wait until the day ends, that I feel that I just don't belong in this workplace. I feel I have so much potential, that I generally feel unfulfilled at work. And I started thinking about going back to school and pursuing a career such as social work. I don't see myself being in this place for the rest of my life.

But if I go back to school, I won't be able to have my own home. I would have to continue staying with my parents for another 3 years and sell my property. I'll be 28 when I leave my home, and there is no rush for me to leave, I really feel I'm stuck in between both decisions.

Even if I pursue my studies by the time I'm done, it can take a long time before I make as much money as I'm making now.