Grad school?

It's been about a year since I graduated with my undergrad degree in Psychology. I love the degree and I'm happy with it but at this point in my life, idk what I want. With everything that's happened in my life, I would like a new start, but idk if continuing school (at least at this point) is critical.

With Psychology, it's "recommended" you continue school. I've applied to jobs with my undergrad degree but nothing has happened. They all want experience which of course I don't have. Well not at the moment. I am working somewhere now but not with my degree. So it kind of makes me depressed on top of many other things.

So my question is, should I continue school? and when? I'd like to go to grad school out of state but the loans is what scares me. I know I'd get better jobs and offers if I continued and such but is it for me? Undergrad was hard enough and it's almost been a year off for me when it comes to school. And now that I see what my life is like working at a job where you don't need a degree, it makes me see things in a different perspective.

Any opinions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

I think you would be better served to get a job in your filed. Most grad schools want to see experience in the field of study. Going on for a Masters will leave you in debt AND the.same position...another degree and still no experience.

What kind of psychology do you want to do? Most counseling psychology (clinical psychology) requires advanced degrees. If you want to be a therapist, most likely you will have to get at least a Master's degree to practice.

A psychology degree without a master's is considered a 'soft' degree like getting a degree in English or Philosophy where that is very hard to translate into a job since most psychologists have to be practitioners and have an advanced degree to do so.

So do your research on the field to determine what job you want, and what the qualifications are in terms of advanced degrees (or not).