My company is merging with another company. But what about the people?

Di84

Last week I along with 1500 other people at my company were told that we were being sold to another company and that the deal would likely go through in January 2015 if all goes well. Of course, this felt like a bomb had landed on all of us and now everyone is worrying for their jobs. We had a conference the day after we got the email from our president to get more information about the deal, but the president along with the HR director could not answer any of our concerns and basically told us "business as usual" until the deal is done. Quite frankly, it cannot be business as usual for anyone when we feel as though as soon as we merge with the other company and the entire transaction is done, the majority of us will be cut as they already have an office here and would likely be keeping their employees first.

The problem with me is that I work in sales for this company and we are front line people. Because of this entire deal now being pubic news, no consultant will want to send us new business. It is already happening and I basically don't have any work to do for the next few months until we know what's going on. To say the least- this is giving me constant anxiety as I have no answers and have no idea what will happen to my job. Although my manager is trying to put us at ease, she doesn't have the answers either so it doesn't help much. I feel like my company is just leaving us hanging right now.

My question to you all is - have you ever been in this type of situation where your company was merging with another company and you knew there would be job cuts? If so, how long did the entire transaction take before they began the elimination process (let's say from the day the deal is done -- 1 month? 6 months? I wonder) ? Were you lucky enough to keep your job with the new company?