Compromised girlfriend's trust, not sure what to do

BDD

Hey everybody,

I've been seeing this girl for about a month now, and things have been getting more serious. I am not that experienced with committed relationships that may turn into long term relationships, so I think in my lack of experience I crossed a boundary. With the hope of being completely transparent and honest, I shared with her that I feared being unfaithful to her, that I would sabotage myself. We both have discussed this sort of thing - "not being comfortable being happy," and sort of self sabotaging ourselves. It happened in one other instance early on in the relationship (she was interested, and knew that I was interested, yet didn't have the self esteem to accept that I liked her until we got into small argument about it). So, yeah.....maybe in my naivete I blurted out something I should have kept to myself, but, like I said, my only intention was to be honest and transparent. Now she is very upset and conflicted, and seems to struggle with trusting me at the moment. What should I do? What do you think would be the most appropriate outcome in any case? Any insight would be great.

Thank you,

BDD

There is nothing to do...she will now always have that doubt.

Chalk it up to experience and while dating...don't lay out hypothetical possibilities.

Why on earth would you say something like that?

It will make whomever you are dating want to stop dating you.

Chalk it up to a lesson learned - some of the crazy in our heads needs to stay in our heads and everyone has a little bit of that. So don't feel bad about it.

Other than that, nothing you can do but be a good bf. Either she'll get over it or you'll end up parting company.

What you do need to do is deal with your insecurities. That will mess up a lot of relationship for you and become kind of a self fulfilling prophecy where your fears make you act nuts and then that nuts drives away partners.