Am I a horrible person?

MattW

Here's my situation. I'm a 22 year old guy, I still live at home with my parents, I'm a full time college student, with a part time job, making about minimum wage. The problem is, well... I'd like to be "normal", I'd like to have my own life, and everything. But, I feel shackled to my parents, because it seems like more and more, they're becoming increasingly reliant on me, financially, due to my dad's low-paying job. On top of my own expenses (college, cell phone, Internet, etc.), I'm also paying for their cell phones, their home phones, and a number of their other bills. Every other month, my mom seems to ask me to write a check for some bill that's gone unpaid. A while back, I gave them $600 for repairs on my dad's car, and at the time, they had promised to pay me back, but later on, it was decided that that wasn't possible.

Thing is, I don't mind helping them out, I really don't. But again, I feel shackled to them. In a couple of months, I'll be 23, and I don't have my own place, I don't even have a car. I have little to no social life, partially because I can't afford it, and partially because I'm a bit ashamed to be living at home and not having a car. It's been like this for almost four years, now... It's just draining. I don't want to be the guy that's in his 30s and 40s, and still lives with his parents, and stuff, yanno? But I already seem to be on that path, and I don't know how to break free.

I don't want to seem ungrateful, because I'm not. But it's hard to see my peers having their own apartments or houses, cars, and the freedom to live their lives. I feel like I'm on the outside looking in. I feel like my parents would pretty much fall apart without me there to help with the financial burden, and it just never seems to ease up.

I feel awful for even feeling this way (hence the topic title). But at this point, I don't even know what to do. I just feel so... frustrated.

Why are your parents in such a bad situation?