First love break up..any similar experiences?

allie24

So this is my first time really using a forum so I hope I'm doing this right and not annoying people. I have loads of friends who have helped so much with this break up but I feel like I need the perspective of some outsiders, so I would really really appreciate anyone's opinion.

The story goes: my boyfriend and I (both 18) were together for almost five months, which doesn't seem like long but we were so in love and it felt perfect up until about a month ago. We live about an hour away from each other, and he always said that he feels guilty when I make the trip to him but he's too busy to make the trip to me. Lose/lose situation. Also about a month ago, he said he thought that we were "losing our spark" a bit. STUPIDLY, I lost my virginity to him in an effort to save the relationship, but 2 days ago he broke it off, giving the reason of distance. I said I would come and see him every day, I don't care about the distance, but he said "it wouldn't be fair for me to ask you to change more than you already have for me". But now we're on holidays and I feel like if he gave me just another couple of weeks to prove that it really can work then we could be back to normal again. How do I convince him of this without being clingy?

I asked him if he thinks, honestly, there's any chance of us getting back together and he said "maybe in a few months..maybe after I've finished my essays and I'm less stressed" but then later he said he can't see it happening. Now it's like ALL I can think about is whether we can get back together. I'm so tempted to call/text him but I don't want to suffocate him. My friends say if I leave him alone he'll realise how much he misses me but I'm so scared he'll just forget all about me.

This is so painful, I've never hurt so much in my life. What should I do? Do you think there's any chance of us getting back together? Thankyou so much for actually reading such a long post from a first-timer!