So confused, and scared! I want to change carrers.

1MoreChance

I spent 5 years studying to be a teacher while working nearly full time as a substitute teacher during my studies. I have been a teacher for a couple of years now. I have worked in elementary schools, high schools and adult education centers.

I never really loved it though there are some things I like and I have worked hard at finding things I appreciate in the profession. I find it highly stressful though, to plan and structure courses, be in control on where I am going for hours at a time when in front of a group, come up with creative ideas and ajust to my students, provide them with support and encouragement, and evaluate their progress. I had a really hard time with stress during my last contract, including performance anxiety before going to class.

I want to go back to school yet again. I want to study in horticulture, want to work with plants, want low stress. it's a full-time, 1350 hour course for one year. I'd teach week-ends to pay the rent. I feel I only did my teaching degree out of fear and need for job security but I'm not happy in my career. I really regret it. I have no kids or responsibilities stopping me from studying. should I do it? classes start january 2010.

Sounds like you have it all planned and set out for you! Wish my life was that deterministic. I thought I knew everything and everything would go as planned but my life is so much more complicated than that!

But Hike, that's exactly what I tried to do! Plan it all and make the "right" decisions, but I was wrong! I hate going into work, and planning my classes. I try to be optimistic, but inside I'm bored to death and it drains me. I get so tired, it just doesn't come naturally.