How do YOU make those big decisions?

gidget1

(I'm hoping this is in the right place - read the part in bold if you wanna skip my story and answer my question)

So I am faced with one of those once in a lifetime life-changing decisions to make, and I am just wondering how does everyone else make up their minds, when it comes to things such as moving overseas/interstate, moving away from your SO, starting a new career, etc?? This is definitely the biggest decision of my life thus far

I have always been a very indecisive person, and even with a big list of pro's and con's, it's hard for me to make up my mind and not feel gutted and torn.

I finish University at the end of this year, as well as my job... The place I work at is closing down in the coming months, so basically I will have nothing holding me here, besides my boyfriend of 4yrs who I live with.

My decision is, do I stay here and find a new job, start a new 1 or 2 yr course at university (as I have been doing for 3/4 yrs now, getting a bit stale)

OR, do I move completely interstate, thousands of kilometres away so that I can start a business (my very kind parents are offering me a once in a lifetime opp. to buy me a business, granted I live with them for awhile til I get back on my feet). The catch? My boyfriend doesn't want to move.

Both options are good in my opinion, I would love to have a business handed to me, as I know it's time to get on my feet and do things for myself y'know, and start a "career", and how often does this happen?! But I love my friends here, my boyfriend, my house, and I'm not close with my family...

How do you make decisions like this? I hope that whatever I choose, I will be smart enough to not hold any regrets, say, 5 yrs from now, but it takes a lot to not wonder "what if?" and to not hold resentment..

Cheers!

By knowing yourself well enough to figure out which choice has the best chance of success and then throwing yourself into it wholeheartedly.