Boyfriend Can't Survive Alone...

So I finally broke up with my "boyfriend." (we never told anyone and I never accepted that we were together) And He's on the phone sobbing for me not to do this and that he feels dead and paralyzed and he needs to see me NOW.

My answer?

no, No and No.

Why?

Because this has happened before, out of our 7 month college relationship (he's 22, I'm 19) I have been attempting to get out of this situation for 5 months.

And Every time I do He weeps and says he'll be better and I feel pity for him and so he sticks around... La de da.

He's been slightly violent once when I mentioned only a break before, he broke a pencil, stabbed me and scratched me with his nails, then took off my clothes and tried to have sex with me, [which felt like he was trying to rape me... I have told him numerous times that I Don't want Sex!!!]

But usually he just can't stand the idea of me going away, although I told him from the beginning that I didn't want a relationship and couldn't commit.

Don't get me wrong, I love him very much...I just don't want to be IN love with him. He's also a very Sweet guy, he's just in a rough spot in his life (theres been a lot of deaths latelyand he doesn't deal well...he's depressed and angry a lot, hence his neediness, not to mention his girlfriend of 5 years prior died in a car accident on the way to see him)

So I finally got up enough strength to tell him that I want to end this, that I'm tired of depending on him for happiness and I want to find my own, he should too.

I refused to let him come over because every time he did before he cried and I was afraid to let him drive home for his threats of suicide and depression and overall tiredness... and we didn't break up..