Is it really worth it?

dolcedolore

I'll try to keep this short, but I tend to always have a lot to write. I'm a sophomore undergrad student with a double major in music (voice and piano) and also getting a minor in German. I'm very busy (this semester I had 19 credits), accompany a bunch of people, and have tons of various music and non-music related jobs. I've always worked hard and probably always will and I take great pride in doing so. I'm a perfectionist in many ways and for months now I've been exercising five times a week and eating healthy (although with occasional relapses as I love sweets).

I have a very tight-knit group of girl friends (all very good girls) from high school that will be going to the same school as me next year, and I have a bunch of acquaintances here at school. But... I don't really have any friends and I don't hang out with anyone here. Usually I'm too busy to notice that I never do anything fun (or maybe I stay busy so as to not notice?) but it's Friday, day after finals, and I'm sitting at home doing absolutely nothing. It's really hitting me hard this time. People assume that I'm such a good girl, but that's only half true. I have had my fair share of fun and craziness, drinking, etc., but it's so few and far between lately and I'm just so damn bored. I don't know exactly what advice or comments I'm looking for right now, I guess I just want to know if anyone else feels this way. I do love my alone time and my studies, but every once in awhile I just crave to actually live life. I'm not the most out-going person, but I'm not socially handicapped. I want a boyfriend! and I'm really not bad at the flirting thing, it's just that I never have any opportunities to meet people.

People who have worked hard throughout life, missed out on having fun, does it pay off? I mean, if I'm working this hard, there has to be someone out there who is as well, and maybe we'll meet one day and have lots of babies, right? Doubt it.