boyfriend gaining weight

dewess

Hi everyone, I'm a newb, go easy on me...

My boyfriend and I have been together for about 9 months. When we first met he was fairly fit but since then he has gained some weight. It may surprise you to read that I actually don't mind this... in fact I even like it in a way... it is a sign that he is comfortable around me.

But his friends have noticed and have been teasing him, and when we're alone he admits he feels self-conscious about it. He's also in his mid-thirties, not old but not exactly a spring chicken, so I think he is worried about it for health reasons, too.

It's the health reasons that make me wonder if I should encourage him to lose weight, but I don't want him to think I don't find him sexy, when I will always think he is the sexiest guy in the room.

We'll go out to eat and he'll order something not very healthy ... my first instinct is to not say anything, he can take care of himself, but now I'm wondering if a good girlfriend would gently say something? But what do I say? If anything? Isn't part of being in a relationship being concerned for your partner's well-being?

Communication is key but when it comes to weight it can almost always go bad, no matter how ya say it! The thing that may work is you putting an effect by doing things you like him to do. Such as you if you eat healthy and start watching sodium levels, carbs, fat grams etc., maybe he'll catch on. Or if you say hey lets go for a nice walk you can get him to exercise a bit.

This is a tricky, touchy subject.

I think you should fully support your boyfriend in whatever he decides. Even if you're totally okay with him looking the way he is, you know he doesn't feel 100%. Why don't you suggest doing a fitness/health challenge - the both of you? Cook healthy foods and go to restaurants that have healthy food that is actually yummy (my boyfriend and I discovered a place downtown that serves salads that are to die for - HIS words)