What to Do?? Help!!

My wife and I can't seem to get on the same page regarding our money! She apparently wants a wedding in Hawaii and a house in the next five years but I am the only one who is willing to save money for these events. She spends too much money on herself and on other things. I don't know if she really wants the future she talks about?? I make enough money for her to stay home with our new baby. I don't want to be an authority figure in her life telling her when and what she can spend our money on, but I need to do something!!!!!! Can anyone out there HELP!!!

Your advice is greatly appreciated!!!!!!

• Like 1

Nothing kills romance faster than financial problems. But bebe, you are so right! You should be upset!

Seeing how I am an accountant this is what I propose. Do a budget. Yes, I know! I know!! Boring!! But its simple....simply start with your TOTAL income you bring in month.

Subtract from it all NECESSARY items, like rent, food expense, diapers, clothes (for the baby of course), etc.

AFter that subtract out items that are of luxury. These items the two of you will need to decide what should go until you can meet your goal. Thats what a sacrifice is.

She needs to understand that if you are willing to work towards making her dreams come true she needs to support your team effort and stick to it. If not, then, bye bye dream house.

Best of luck babe!

• Like 1

I think this kind of issue should be discussed before any vows are taken, because if you both have different financial views on the family you're gonna form together, it's gonna be stressful for both of you, but i think you'll be the one more stressful in your case.

Try to be bring it up in your discussion, and see how you can work out a budget that both of you can agree upon. Hope that helped.

do the budget, then present it to her. she's basically your CEO. she owns the baby. and if you don't like that, she can take half your stuff away in a divorce anyway