Help with trying to stop cutting

i_love_you

I've been cutting for 5 months now and I'm able to really talk to two people about it, my aunt and my best friend.

My best friend wants me to talk to my parents so they can help me get help or talk to a doctor so I can get medication but I'm not really ready to tell either of them because my parents will flip out and I don't like doctors... But I'm trying to stop on my own... which is going good I think but it has only been six days. I have been wanting to cut so bad but I just keep thinking about everyone in my life and what my aunt and best friend have told me.. But I know that I will not be able to control the emotions anymore because I'm not strong enough and no one seems to understand why I turn to cutting they just think that its stupid and they just tell me that I need to stop... they don't get that it keeps me calm down and clear my head but if anyone has any advice please help me!!

You know what you need to do, my friend. DO tell your parents. Yes, they'll be upset. But only because they'll feel guilt at not having noticed that you were having problems and turned to this drastic form of dealing with those problems.

I'm VERY glad you told your aunt, though-what about HER telling your parents, would that make it easier? Or her being with you when you told them? You know she's worried as heck about you, and wants what's best for you, as does your best friend. And the professional help will be a LOT easier to come by if you do. And yes, you will have to see a doctor. But it's not a shameful thing, not in the least. EVERYONE could use therapy at some point, myself included. It's the people who say they DON'T need it that need it the most!