Would appreciate any thoughts

SomeVlad

This will probably be a long post, but I want to make sure that I explain the situation completely. This is my first time posting here, and I will explain the facts in the way I understand them now, after everything that has happened.

I am 24 and have been with a girl for 4 years. We met in college, and this is my first serious relationship. She is also the first and only girl I have ever had sex with. This was not because I could not have had a relationship or sex for whatever reason (I am good-looking and do well socially) but rather because I have always felt that I did not want any of that from someone for who I do not have very strong feelings. In college, when going to parties etc., I have never been tempted to just hook up and have sex with some random girl, no matter how good-looking. My girlfriend is rather different in that respect (and so are most people today). She has had several boyfriends and also had numerous one-time hook-ups in college. While on occasion I could feel slight annoyance about this, I understand that all those experience are part of what makes her who she is and that resulted in making her the person I love. The main reason I am mentioning all this is just for background—it is not at all my intention to show her or me in good/bad light, since, as I pointed out, I do not hold her past against her.

We were friends for one semester before we got together, and when we did, we jumped straight into it, moving in together right away and living together in the dorm. We have lived together ever since going on to after graduation. Almost from the very beginning we were saying how we wanted to get married and be together. We used to joke how the only reason I would not propose was that I could not afford the ring she wanted. In retrospect, I do not know about her, but I really would have married her without a second thought, and I had meant all that I said.