4 year relationship, broke up after 4 months living together

GettingThere89

I've been lurking around on this forum for about a month since my break-up, and just wanted to put my story out there for some input. It's a little long - sorry... I'm a writer.

My ex and I met on a dating site 4 years ago and hit it off immediately. It was uncanny how much we had in common. Additionally, this is my first relationship... I'm a late bloomer, I met him at 25 (he's a year older). Now I'm 29, and he is turning 30 in a few months. He broke up with me in early February.

When we met, we basically fell head over heels. We went incredibly fast. We met in early February, I had to put off our first date because I had to work late, but we had a couple beers and soon he was asking for a 2nd date (on Valentine's day... but he didn't know this until we set the date). I felt so connected that I invited him to my birthday party to meet most of my friends and my brother a week later... then we became official a month later. He was very romantic and loving. And he was so for the first 2 years. We told each other our "I love you"s a couple months in. He is one of the kindest and empathetic people I've met. I started to get over my doubts to see what a great partner he is and how I would love to have a future with him. Additionally, his mom and friends love me and they're all very nice, sweet people. My family loves him too. It all seemed so great. We are both ambitious and driven people. I try to give him as much space as he needs to do his own stuff (admittedly I can be clingy sometimes but he would call me out on it and I would try to be better about it)