Help I'm new to dating and at a loss

pinkprincess

Hey Guys

I am one of those people who can give advice to others but never know where i am going myself. I have been in a long term relationship from the age of 17 to 27. Then was one my own and met a man when i was 29 and now at the age of 31 i am finding myself single again. (just a bit of background info). Now i miss being in a relationship so i have started attempting to date. Now i think or thought i have ruled out many of the weirdos on the site i am on and i have had 1 date which i found the man to be easy to get on with but not someone i would want to date. So the first question is i have told him nicely that i think we would be nothing more than friends. However hard i try he doesn't seem to get this and is hell bent on the fact we will be together.

so the first question is how do i get him to see there is no dating potential with us?

Now obviously you get a few interests not all sane on these dating sites. I have now found myself chatting to 2 lovely men but that is all it is at the moment chatting. i kinda feel a bit weird about chatting to more than one man with the hope (by both parties i think) that this will lead to something. is this normal?

And finally i am due to go on a date and was wondering what the etiquette is? what do we chat about? i want to be myself but i also don't want to scare them away haha. And i would absolutely hate it if i ran out of things to say.

Any advice is much appreciated.

1. how do i get him to see there is no dating potential with us?

You've already told him. You can tell him again, but if he doesn't listen, then stop talking and block him if you have to. You don't owe him anything. I struggled with this at first while doing online dating because I tend to be too nice, but I eventually got it.

2. i kinda feel a bit weird about chatting to more than one man with the hope (by both parties i think) that this will lead to something. is this normal?