paulanth

Mid 40s. Been dealing with depression for the last 20 years. Laundry list of medications, none of which worked. Tried ECT, TCM, therapy, etc. I have considered killing myself several times over the years but because of my own fears and my family, I have never pursued it with intent. A big part of my depression is my lack of ability to have a serious relationship over the past 25 years. I don't know if this is the root cause of the depression or a side effect of it. I thought in my younger days that in order to attract women, I need to be the best person I can be. I've managed to be fairly successful. I'm a professor and I'm pretty well known in my field. I stay in pretty good shape, enough to complete in crossfit competitions. But frankly, my work and my other pursuits don't bring me any joy anymore. The fact that I'm not in a relationship and I don't have a family weighs heavily on me. I've come to the point where everything in life seems pretty pointless. I'm beginning to think it is time.

Hey Paul,

Being successful and in good shape are great qualities in attracting partners towards us.

Do you have any explanation as to why you're unable to form new relationships?

Have you tried and been unsuccessful?

Have you not tried out of fear?