Advice for getting a tatoo

This seemed like the most appropriate forum for this question.

I am finishing up my master's degree and when I complete my final exam I want to get a tatoo. I designed it myself, it's not really to celebrate completing my degree but in memory of my mother who passed away last year. She was all about learning and education so I told myself that as soon as I finished my degree I would get a tatoo to honor her. Because this will have so much meaning to me I want to make sure I do it right. I know the basics: Look for a place that is clean, pay attentions to reviews they get, look at the artists work etc but does anyone have any other advice? Something you didn't think of until you got your tatoo?

Places that you can just walk into are usually not the best. If you find an artist that doesn't have an appointment for a few weeks/months they are usually the really good ones. Check out their Instagram (most good artists have one) see if you like their work and what people are saying about them.

DO NOT GET A TATTOO BASED ON PRICE. You will have to pay $150/HR or more for a good quality tattoo with a reputable artist. Expect it to take longer than you think. If you think it will take 1 HR save enough money for 2. Also most artists and shops take cash only. You will probably not be able to put this on a credit card. And you will most likely have to give a cash deposit in advance of your appointment.

Personally I prefer female artists because they usually have a lighter touch and really understand where a tattoo will look good on you. Also if the artists suggests a different placement on the body go with it. They know what they are talking about.

A good quality tattoo takes TIME and MONEY.

I have 7 tattoos and counting, these are a few things I've learned along the way. Will edit if I think of anything else.