Need some perspective on relationship crisis

edg0414

Hello everyone,

It's my first time posting here. Allow me to introduce myself and my case (I'm afraid this is gonna be a long one).

I'm a 25 year old guy, who is shy, introverted and not incredibly outgoing. I'm currently in process of finishing my masters thesis in jouurnalism, as well as looking for a job. My girlfriend of two years and I have experienced a crisis, which frankly left me in a deep state of mistrust and doubt.

A week ago, I was texting her - we live a couple of hours apart and usually meet up a couple times a week. I try to compensate that by communicating through phone and other media. That time we were planing a weekend at my parent's place, to celebrate my birthday with my family. There was an issue, as when I was with her on her birthday (a week earlier), I accidently overheard her parents talking that they are having financial problems. Now here's a weird thing for you all - we both live with our parents, as in our country it is customary for young people to spend few years building their own financial stability and living with parents, before they move away. Now this might be a part of the problem for both of us, but I'll let you decide on that. Anyway, her parents financial problems meant that by extent she wouldn't be able to come visit me, so I suggested to spend an afternoon during the wednesday or thursday before. She also seemed really unsure about the weekend anyway, so I thought it would be best for both of us. I didn't mention the conversation I overheard - didn't want to hurt her feelings.