break up due to money issues and depression

Rihanna

Hello everyone!

First of all I really appreciate all the advice I can get cos my situation seems bit complicated. I was in a loving relationship with my ex and we had plans for our future and everything was going fine. Then, he injured his shoulder really badly that he needs surgery and he's on the waiting list for that because he doesn't have health insurance and we're both financially struggling. When doctors told him he couldn't work anymore for at least 6 months after his surgery he became depressed cos he can no longer sustain a relationship and he has no income (due to injury) and no savings (he spent his money, what little he had on rent and food), and he's old school he won't accept financial help from a woman (weird I know) and i'm a student anyway. So first thing he does, he buys me a plane ticket, takes me to the airport, gives me some $ (not much but he insisted I'd take it, though I shouldn't have cos he obviously needs it more than me) and sends me back to my parents cos he can no longer support me and we hugged cried in the airport and i left. Since I've been here (at my parents) he sent me one message saying 'I'm out, I can't be with anyone anymore, my future is over!' then, he called me a week later to ask me what I want to do with the stuff I left behind (cos I left abruptly) and hasn't answered any of my texts or phone calls. For the first few weeks, I bombarded his brother with texts to ask about him and his brother said he's still in the same situation, angry and depressed then he started to ignore my texts as well. Also, my ex lost his job (self employed) cos he can't work due to his shoulder impingement so basically, he has NOTHING to support himself anymore and he's on benefits for now (I think). I love him and I know he loved me (and probably still does, who knows), we had a future planned that we should do life bit differently and get work in the workplace instead of relying on self-emp