Six months post-graduation, I'm feeling pretty worthless.

Hello everyone,

I graduated with my Bachelor's in Interior Design this past November. I worked very hard and diligently in school and graduated cum laude while working full-time as a retail manager. Up until recently, I was extremely proud of this accomplishment, and believed it would afford me many opportunities.

I have yet to secure employment in my field of study, and am feeling pretty down on myself. The last two semesters of school, I felt I was going to go places; I was making many connections in the industry during my internship and felt that things would ultimately work out, despite the economy.

I am now $56,000 in student loan debt (after interest, it will be close to $80,000) and I cannot even land an interview.

I am still employed in my retail job; I wasn't planning on quitting until I had secured employment elsewhere, and I am up for a promotion within the company. Said promotion would probably increase my salary by $5,000/year, but it does not require a college degree (however, if you have one, you can negotiate a higher salary.) So here I am, in debt with nothing to show for it.

Were 80-hour weeks for 40 consecutive months worth all this? I feel I made a huge mistake in obtaining an education; even if I do find a job, I'll probably be making the same amount of money I do now.

Do any college graduates have these same feelings and circumstances? If so, how do you cope?

I graduated with a teaching degree, and finding a career took YEARS. I had the same thoughts and feelings too.

I see a LOT of positives going for you here than you realize: