Broken up after 3 years

beesknees910

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post here and I feel I may be on here every once in a while and wanted to introduce myself (if anyone is out there).

Just a little bit of my story: My now ex-boyfriend and I were together for over three years. He just turned 29 and I am 26. We had great times and we had little arguments now and then. I graduated from college in 2009 and have since been employed full-time and am constantly working on improving myself, working out, running half marathons, furthering education, etc. and my ex (lets call him K) had a hard time with that sometimes. Every once in a while, he would bring up that I was too good for him and that I was going to leave him for someone more successful. He has a part-time job and has never moved out of his parent's home. So back to the last couple months before the break up. We have been talking about getting a place together for a while but he honestly thinks renting is a waste of money, he wants to buy his own house, etc, and for a while it was seeming as though this would be happening in 2014. Also, I will definitely admit to sometimes being grumpy and saying how I was ready for the next step. I feel as though he felt he was letting me down.

So, I went away for Thanksgiving to my grandparents and he had to work at his job, so he couldn't come. When I came back into town and we saw eachother the first day, he asked me if I was happy with him. I said that of course sometimes things could be more exciting, but that I loved him and was happy with him. It started a 4-hour long conversation about how he feels as though he's letting me down. He doesn't think he will be able to move out in the timeline he originally expected, he needs to find the things in life that will make him happy, and he's been very unhappy. So we break it off and I did NC for almost two weeks.