Feeling sorry for myself...kinda lost a close friend when i only have a few...

emma34

Because I'm new to this town (6 years) when it seems everyone who lives here is from here... and also i have a fairly isolating job...i have a tiny social circle of people I hang out with mostly individually.

I have been lucky to have one close girl friend though. Lived with her for awhile, was just recently her maid of honor and spent my entire summer dedicated to supporting her in that, been pretty close with since I moved here....and in fact most of the acquaintances and contacts I've gathered over the past few years have been through her.

I think our friendship is over though...she is a toxic bully (i put up with it for a long time because i didn't have many girl friends) and although I still care about her and want to be her friend, I can't put up with it anymore, it's too harmful for me emotionally and very stressful, so I've decided to cool it...not cut ties, I don't burn bridges, but just...not be the kind of loyal friend I have been...

but its her surprise birthday party tonight and i am sitting home alone on my couch...and even though I know i really can't go (it's a long story but it would be too weird for me to go to celebrate her birthday given how shi**y the recent thing she did to me is) I just feel like...so sad...what a loss...i feel like i've invested so much into a friendship and now it's gone as well as all the connections i made along the way since they were really her friends....

not needing advice really, just kinda feeling sorry for myself...

i know i'm a good friend...i'm fun, i'm outgoing, i sincerely care very much about my friends... but feel like i have had really poor luck with girl friends....mainly i think to do with the fact that most of the people in this town are so cliquey...anyone else have experience with this?