Dropping Facebook can work wonders

Mistykitty

Hi all, I figured it's about time to share my positive story on here after only posting about the negatives of my breakup. I notice many people saying they keep tabs on their ex's online life, and its preventing them from getting over them. Well, here's my story and how it helped in many more ways...

I was addicted to Facebook. I didn't know it at the time; I thought I was just being a normal teenager. I always had it open whenever I was on the computer (aka ALL DAY, as I'm majoring in graphic design). Even if I wasn't chatting to anyone, playing a game, or doing anything "important" on there, it was open. My (now-ex) boyfriend always said things like "wow, on Facebook again?" but I always brushed it off as a joke.

I was in tons of groups, and where there's a lot of immature teenagers in one place, there's bound to be drama. I started getting in arguments and started receiving hatemail. One of the worst feelings is knowing that someone you used to talk to a lot has blocked you. It got to the point where I couldn't see half the posts in groups I was in because they had blocked me, or vice versa. The hate carried over to tumblr, where its even easier for people to be mean since you can send things anonymously.

I also had a terrible habit of using these two sites for attention. I've always hated people who did that, but looking back on it...that's exactly what I did. I didn't just cut myself, I had to make a post about it. When I was feeling suicidal, you can bet that all my Facebook friends knew. Even though I hardly ever got the attention I was desiring from these posts, I continued doing it.