My current (ex) boyfriend and I have been together for almost two and a half years.

We are both 27, and met when we were 24, and we love each other very, very deeply.

Unfortunately, things starting cracking up about six months ago, when I came back from a trip to Belize to find that he'd deleted two weeks worth of my work from his computer -- by accident. I was very,very upset, and also feeling anxious and unsure of him because he had proposed casually a couple of months before, I accepted, and then he never mentioned it again.

I broke up with him, and we didn't speak for two days, which was very difficult because we were living together at the time.

Things never have been the same since then.

We got back together, but our communication broke down so badly, and he seemed so defensive when we argued that I got even more upset -- and broke it off with him again and again.

By the time I got my first internship (I'm a writer for the newspaper), we were on much shakier ground than I ever new. I had to travel half a country away, to Texas, to get the first experience that landed me my first full-time writing position.

All summer, we tried to keep contact over the phone, but he didn't call as often as I wanted to, because he was worried that he would say something that would make us break up again. For my part, I missed him more and more, and hurt so bad that I decided that this was it -- I had to know whether he was committed to me and to making things better, or I had to leave.

When I came back from the summer, things were halcyon for two wonderful days, during which I carefullyavoided the topic.

Then, I finally had to bring it up.

He said he couldn't be sure that he'd ever get over Belize.

I broke up with him, we got back together the next day, then I broke up with him again.

And this time, he said that this that was it. He could'nt take the pain of the breakups anymore, and we couldn't get back together this time.