It's coming back to haunt me

kittysaysmeow

I'm sorry if this is a long thread, it's my first time writing it out.

When I was 15, I was raped repeatedly by my first boyfriend. He was violent and verbally abusive. Manipulative. I broke up with him after 1 year and he proceeded to stalk me. Terrorize me. Eventually it stopped when the police told him to knock it off.

I have only told a few ex-boyfriends. My parents, my friends - no one knows. I though I could get over it. I thought I could "not be a victim" and move forward with my life. It was really about just ignoring my past and keeping it a secret. I was able to make it through university and I'm gainfully employed and very successful in my career.

But it will be 15 years this year and it's coming back to haunt me in a big way. I suppose it never went away. I was just able to suppress it before. I've been calling in sick lately because I can barely get out of bed. I feel suicidal a lot of the time. I cry almost every day. My "bad" days are happening more often than my "good" days.

My boyfriend says it's time to talk about it. To tell my counsellor - someone. But I'm scared. I'm scared that no one will believe me. I'm scared that if I admit to it, it will consume what's left and I'll never get out of it again. I'm just really afraid. I'm also mad. I'm mad at my parents for not noticing. I'm mad at my friends for not noticing. I'm mad at everyone that didn't stop it. But I know in my heart that they couldn't have. I was so good at covering it up.

I keep thinking about it. Thinking about him. It won't stop.

I don't know what I'm looking for on this forum. I don't know what I need to do. I suppose I just need advice.

Honestly I won't pretend to understand what you're going through, but I can tell you this. No one is going to not believe you. Sadly, this happens far too often to far too many people.