I have career goals... that make no $.

And I don't have my parents' approval.

I'm still a student, trying to get my parents' approval as a communications major.

I KNOW. This field is so looked down upon. So many people assume I'm taking it because it's easy and fun for college... but I do have career goals that are related to this field. Advertising. Public Relations. Marketing. Perhaps work in journalism or TV. It's broad, but it's because I don't want to focus on just one career path and have no back-up.

So many people also tell me I can't get any good jobs.

Yeah, I know many communications major who are unemployed or working retail (not what they imagined, I'm sure).

Anyway, this was just a little vent. I really have my head on and am working as hard as I can towards my dream career goals, but my parents' always look down on it and suggest me majoring in business or law or go into pre-med when I can tell you that it's something I can't deal with for the rest of my life.

It just really blows that I don't have their approval because even though it is my life, I feel like I'm disappointing them if I never get their approval.

Hey lifeisaparadox,

I am also a communications major. I served in the AmeriCorps for two years and ended up going into nonprofit work. I'm in grad school right now and I do both communications and nonprofit management type work in my field.

I will say this: Communications is a great field, but it is all dependent on experience and experience alone. Do LOTS of internship (You won't be getting paid for a while though). Get good experience, and meet lots of professionals. This is the path to success.

If you want to see what experience it takes, a great way is to snoop on Linked In profiles. Check out the jobs you would like to have and see what experiences these people had before. Good luck!

I have a communications degree. I earn around $65,000 as a writer/editor. There are certainly decent jobs in communications.