From 4-year relationship to LDR. Need some advice.

Hello,

I've recently had to leave the US, where I was an international student for a long time, because my visa had ended and I was running out of money to pay for my studies. I am now about to continue studying in the UK. Problem is: I've had to leave my boyfriend of four years in the US.

We would do everything together - sleep, eat, watch movies, even work on projects together. Now we have had to turn our relationship into a long-distance relationship and I think I might need some advice on how to deal with it properly.

In February, he wasn't quite sure how to handle the long-distance part - I had, however, planned to come back on vacation for a month and a half in May/June.

I just returned from that vacation. My boyfriend is now more enthusiastic about the long-distance idea (hopefully not because I got on his nerves when I was there), and he is definitely of the opinion that our relationship is strong and trusting enough to keep going. Quite frankly, our relationship hasn't changed much over the years - with the exception that he became more caring and understanding and I became more trusting.

But despite the fact that things seem to be going so well, I seem to be missing him even more now that I'm back.

Every time I don't see him smile (we talk on Skype every day), it worries me. On top of that, I had gotten on a new contraceptive pill before I traveled out to visit him again and it gave me horrible mood swings and depression, which I had for more than half the time I was there.

So I became really emotional, started demanding firm answers about the future of our relationship and, frankly, started to drag him down as well.