Allyo

So I have chosen to follow the lead of others on this board and write my own guide. I am no expert, but this is what worked for me in getting back an ex.

I know no contact seems to be the rule of thumb on this board… however I am kind of more won-over by the idea of no contact for only a short period of time (a couple of weeks to a couple of months) after the break-up, followed by a period of low contact. This is with the explicit goal of eventually getting back together with an ex.

Here is why:

1) Low contact is almost no contact. It means talking no more than once a week to once in a blue moon. It means that you have time to heal, live your life, and be on your own without completely shutting the door. It could possibly be harder to re-establish contact months later after you have both completely erased each other from your lives.

2) Low contact is okay as long as you are nonchalant (read the wonderful post about nonchalance). I mean this in the sense that when you contact the person you should have few expectations as to how to the conversation or interaction should turn out. Any contact should be based on positive energy and good intentions, not on negative emotions or unrealistic expectations. Especially at the beginning, relationship and getting back together talk should be avoided. The most important thing is to establish a positive rapport with the other person.

3) Nonchalant low contact can also possibly re-establish your attractiveness to the other person. You are changing your dynamic and energy for the better.