oh money money - who's got the money

Ok so I could swear I saw a financial section in here, but it's not an option when posting so - I'm just going to put it right here.

I'm 27 years old and after years of drug addiction and otherwise poor financial decisions I'm tyring to get my financial life in order, improve my credit score (which, depending on the credit reporting agency you check with, rates as low as the high 400s ((i know, horrible))).

I wasn't brought up in a fiscally smart household, barely even knowing what a credit score was until I moved from Smallsville, USA to the city in my early twenties. That being said, it's safe to say I'm pretty new to the ins and outs of the system and I'm trying to put something of a decent financial life together - the only problem is... I don't really know how to go about improving my credit score. I understand that past due debts will need to be taken care of, and I have no issues dealing with that... but my (maybe unreasonable) fear is that once I contact one debt collector to pay off the first bill in the list of many, the other collections agencies will start hounding me, demanding money that I can't pay because I'm trying to pay off the other older debts first. This makes me worry about suit for garnishment which would completely destroy any attempt to reconcile my finances.

What should I do? I've thought about bankruptcy, but that just seems so sinister and frightening... people talk about it like it's the plague - but at the same time, if I try to pay all these things off it will seriously hinder me from staying current on the bills I have right now (car payments, rent, insurance, etc...) Ugh... I'm just so frustrated. Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated.

Well I can tell you right now the whole credit and repairing/fixing can take pages of explanation.